I am realizing (and my husband, too) that bedtime prayers and the Rosary with the kids is not enough to know and love God. It is definitely not enough time to draw grace for all the things that demand time and energy throughout the day. So I have prayerfully made a commitment to waking up early for silent prayer and to pray Lauds. I pray my husband can join me.

Praying with the kids and then praying the Rosary at the foot of their bed is a great family practice. We see the difference in our little kids. Therese is “getting” prayer on the most basic level. At Mass she repeats with me the prayer the Angel taught to the children at Fatima after receiving her blessing at Holy Communion. Her little hands folded in prayer saying these words she doesn’t really understand is such innocent sweetness.

Oh my God,

I believe, I adore,

I hope, and I love You.

And I pray for those

who do not believe,

do not adore, do not hope,

and do not love you. Amen +

 

This past Sunday I asked her, “what does that mean?” She told me, “It means I love you, Jesus!” The right answer. 🙂 We have started praying it together when she wakes up. Elzbieta follows along for about 5.2 seconds. :p

Leave a Reply

